Graduation Day: Class of 2006
Saturday, October 28, 2006
This entry should have been posted ytd, but bcos i was too tired (slept for only 2hrs the previous day) i broke my longest record of sleeping - 16 hrs non-stop. wow. n i only woke up today.
well, ytd was grad day, and i felt pretty nostalgic. the only thing which realli displeased me was that they still didn't let the chairpersons off and asked us to do silly things, but still...everything else was great. (no one cried, at least)
the ceremony was a great one. i liked the GOH immensely, he's definitely one smart guy, with first class honours for engineering in NUS, and his speech was well-penned. it provoked my thoughts n i've to say, he's right. its all about the journey, not the result. (and with that, i changed my impression of people from the MOE) he was very friendly, and spoke to almost all recepients, sth which i did not expcet to happen. he asked me if i was from a technical class...haha.
n then there were performances by the modern dance, malay dance, choir n band. of course, the band performance rocked, n so did the choir. the choir stirred up lots of memories when they sang 'Beauty and the Beast'...reminded me of the musical, and the enjoyable times i spent with my section...n the choir...their performance rocked, BIG TIME.
a pity CO didn't perform, but...i guess i shouldn't comment. its expected. no doubt i had unhappy times there, i guess my section made up for it...they taught me a lot, and without them, i won't have survived through CO...so thanks guys!
then there's CG...although my stay there was short, but it stil did leave some memories deep in me..i dunno why, but i guess...its the friendship that counts.
back to the ceremony, mrs joseph made a speech...which made the audience roar with laughter. its really very funny, describing how students sleep with their eyes open, and how they could improve it by blinking and nodding...u get the picture. and she showed us a slide show, abt the lessons learnt frm the world cup. although she got the Brazilian team wrong(she used the Argentine team instead), the slide show was very touching and meaningful, and of cos, nostalgic.
finally, the thing we were all waiting for: the slide show prepared by mr roy ng. perfectly and magnificently done. enjoyed it. thank goodness it wasn't with a sad song, i would have cried otherwise. evoked all wonderful memories...
well, everything has to come to an end. 4 years has passed, and we have graduated. all the times that i spent in my class, 103/2003, 202/2004, 3T1/2005, 4T1/2006, and my CCAs, CO & CG, was great. n i learnt a lot from them. they have made my life so much more wonderful and perfect, and without them, i wouldn't be here, blogging away.
not forgetting my good friends...the GOH said if you had 5, its good enough. i have 3..enough la. haha. you know who you are, thanks a lot guys!
and of course, the teachers!!!
mrs toh
ms jenny wee
ms goh ling li
mrs hilda foo(no longer in sch)
mr mathew lim [grand master of chemistry!]
mrs joseph
mr osgodby
mr roy ng
ms adeline phua
ms tay
mr loh
mr tan kh
mr tay
mr peacock
ms kong
...thanks to all of u!!!! you guys rock! without them, my class and myself would not have achieved such results!
looking back the past 2 years, 4T1 went through so much together...hope the friendship and the bond that we develop will never break...and keep in contact forever!
for now, it is beginning of the journey. to my beloved 4T1, good luck in your future endeavours!
bio prac...
Tuesday, October 17, 2006
today's the start of the race. officially.

biology practical.

qn 1. osmosis & mean change in length. onion was the plant given. it was not tt difficult, just tt i had to manipulate the results to make sense out of it. plus, there's this qn which i think is pretty ambiguous. 3 marks..i just put down what i thought was right..n i made a silly mistake here, which costed me 2 marks.

no qualms about that.

qn 2. 2 specimens of leaves are given. one of them is a variegated leaf, & u are asked to test for starch. the other is a normal one, & u are asked to test for reducing sugar. then u are supposed to draw a plant cell and label it. i go gl and put 2 vacuoles, thinking i shld follow the diagram given. hope i won be penalised for that. then planning for expt.

yeah. tt's all. hope i can do well..

hmm. have to pack my stuff, and get ready for the big 'race' tmr. yeah. cya.

silly haze. down with flu.
hello...
Sunday, October 15, 2006
haven't blogged for quite some time. busy, as usual.

there's certain things which i want to say, but guess this is not the time to...

getting a bit sick of studying. or shld i say, mugging. what is the difference between the two? they mean the same to me. perhaps mugging has a more negative connotation to it.

bio prac in 2 days time. n i have completely no clue as to what will be out. how nice is that.

k, i shall go do something while waiting for bao to come online. cya guys.

i will change my blogskin soon. promise.
bleh. rubbish.
Tuesday, October 03, 2006
haven't blogged for quite some time..busy clearing all the prelims papers that i've received, which literally will stack up to a mountain someday.

talk about the good thing first...scored a goal today during pe!!! haha.

ok. now for the lamenting part.

we are supposed to have CONSULTATIONS with the teachers, where students who encounter any problems on whatever subject concerned, will go look for their respective teachers for consultation sessions to clear their doubts.

this was what happened to the previous batch (i presume), and was what was supposed to happen to us.

but it didnt.

instead, the teachers made us stay back for timed practice. the weaker ones are being taken away to have LESSONS with teachers, and the rest are stuck in the hall doing timed prac.

let's quote an e.g.

ytd, its scheduled for those who did not do well for a maths to have their CONSULTATION sessions with the a math teachers. what happened was, 2 grps were called out, and sent to have lessons with mrs chiu n mr peacock, while the rest were stuck in the hall, doing timed prac in the afternoon. those who failed, were threatened with the blue form. yea, the form to quit taking a maths as a subject.

so we were stuck in the hall for 1.hr 15 min. then it was chemistry. or chaos. no one knew where to go, and i ended up wasted time listening to mr lim in the ava ranting on abt electrolysis.

wow. the very purpose of CONSULTATION was defeated by our dearest teachers. it would be much more productive, if we could look for the teacher that we want to, rather than doing timed prac. we can do the papers at home, but we cannot talk to the teachers at home. somehow the teachers don realise that.

so ytd after the whole thing was over at abt 4.30, i spoke to mr tan hs, mrs joseph. both said it wasn't productive, and made SOME changes. but still, the decision still lies on the respective sub teachers. n the chairpersons had to spend 20min of their precious time looking for teachers to try to confirm their plans. n so, for today, my class had to stay for phy timed prac, which lasted for last than an hour.

n tmr, the schedule is not confirmed yet. it will be confirmed on a day-by-day basis. what a waste of time.

somehow, the sch doesn realise that we really don have much time left, and keeps banging us with timed prac n more timed prac. i think some time, if not all, shld be spent revising the core concepts, n doing the TYS rather than doing other sch prelim papers, whose qn are not typical of the O level ones.

well. maybe i shld give feedback tt we will do without the timed prac during marking day, and stay at home n study.

but definitely, i will ask for not having to come to sch the day b4 bio prac. it just doesn't make sense.

k, spent too much time on this entry. have to start work. cya guys.