Never disliked going to school so much, because other than lessons of 2 subjects, the rest is just a waste of time. Hopefully things will get better.
Got back my results, it's not that bad, but i'm still feeling neutral to it.
As for SAT it's a total screw up, guess it's because of my lack of preparation and lack of vocab.
This entire week had been quite a blur for me. Thoughts of various kinds come rushing and leaving my brain like nobody's business. It's difficult to just be calm and steady...
Also because I'm starting to find that it is getting impossible to understand how or what some people are thinking. Exam stress? Probably.
Which brings me to my point, the case of having tuition in Singapore. To my dismay, MOE hasn't given a reply to this...It's like this has nothing to do with them. To them, the Singapore system is one of the best in the world, with hardly any flaws.
That may be the case, but are schools really up to standard?
My answer will be a straight NO.
In order to provide students a holistic education, schools cram the entire year with programmes and activities, leaving little time with to clear the syllabus. The teachers are so busy with these programmes that they have little time to prepare their lessons.
And so, syllabus is always taught so quickly, you are given a few questions per topic, and there you go, it's examinations before you know it.
And they somehow love to set killer papers for examinations, making even primary school students fail. These students become demoralised, and parents realise that this won't work, and so send their children for tuition.
I really question the rationale of such a system.
What's the point of rushing the syllabus, when hardly anyone understands the topic, so as to leave more time for revision? I'm not saying that revision isn't important, but revision in most instances has become re-teaching of the entire topic. Or at least, re-learning the entire topic.
And then setting difficult papers so as to spur students to study harder. It used to work, but not anymore. Those teachers probably didn't hear of this mindset: 'Study fail, don't study also fail, study for WHAT???'
The result is that students all flock to tuition, making them even busier than before. Maybe even an additional source of stress.
Have you ever wondered, if what you learn is from tuition centres and not from school, what is the point of going to school?
MOE will then say....schooling gives you social skills, learn about NE, yada yada...
Not that some of these aren't useful...But that they should make it in such a way that schooling is more than sufficient to prepare you for exams.
Well, they always have their reasons, don't they?
it's a waste spending the last day of your holidays mugging away.
大家和睦相处, 不是很好吗?
我不想这么年轻, 就有了遗憾。
I guess reading his blog isn't a waste of time as he placed it, it allows me to reflect too.
I realised that this entire year I had been keeping myself busy with all sorts of things. first was H3, then teaching tuition, then common test and concert. I had not much time to really be alone and reflect or think about certain things thoroughly. Or you could say I'm avoiding it, because I know allowing myself to have a chance to do that will only result in more depression.
Then again, it could be my hastiness that resulted in what happened a couple of days ago. Looking back, I realise I'm getting more and more confused by the day...Because I'm getting numb, even at the things that used to matter to me in the past. I can no longer feel the pain; it's as if my heart has given up. I wonder if that is a good thing...
But I can understand what he is trying to say in his blog, because I have experienced it before...Even now I question myself why am I doing so much work. I guess to some extent it is to fill up the emptiness in my life, and stop myself from thinking too much...
Those people who know me well enough would be aware that friendship is the thing that caused me the most pain in my life...And so I always thought that the moment you step out of secondary school, whatever relationship you form with others will be that of a working one...which is what he claims as 'perfect. peaceful. practical.'
But then again...it would be sad if everyone were to think that way...I still believe that people need close friends, friends who really care. And it is because of each other's differences that the friendship becomes valuable...
i'm not sure if i'm being overly optimistic here, but the way I feel about friends wouldn't change.
Now that the holidays are coming to an end, I really wish I have more time to myself, and just chill out more...This holiday is one of the best i've had...being comfortable and not rushed for time...but it will end soon. In the next few months I will only have Sundays to myself...Hopefully it's enough...
Well...friends are important, but so is having some time to yourself too.
My dear friend, you really sound too old for your age...haha. But I agree with what you say...most importantly just be contented with what you have, and all will be fine. =)
and it's 雨过天晴 for me.
'Yesterday is history.
Tomorrow is a mystery.
Today is a gift, and that is why it's known as the present.'
Wu Gui
To those who feel strongly against what I feel or write in this post, I would advise you to keep it to yourself for now. or better still don't read it (the font will be grey). it's a very personal post, a post which expresses how i feel...
a blog is like a personal diary too.
well, some may know that i'm currently undergoing lots of stress because of tomorrow. it's not typical of me to be like that, even i'm bewildered by it myself...i guess it's everything crumpled together that made me crack not once, but twice.
People who have relevant experience know that it's not easy to organise a gathering of any sort. A class outing with more than half the class present is considered a success. The reason why I thought of organising this outing is because I thought it would be a great chance for everyone to meet up; the next chance that we get to really meet would be after our A levels. And also Marcus is back, which makes it a even rarer opportunity. I won't deny that I too would want to meet the class, but that's secondary.
And so I tried to organise it, and as anyone from bp would know, things always start popping up towards the end. I tried to make it as smooth as possible..probably this isn't my best attempt on things, but at least I tried my best. The turnout may not be good, but is it my fault that it is so? I specially chose tomorrow so that people won't say they don't want to go because of their CTs; didn't choose last week because of NJ band concert, which some of them are going. And now this group of people said they are not going, because too few people are going. Who is to blame?
Someone said that I didn't confirm the venue before I announced to everyone. Well, Fiona, it's not your fault that you couldn't make it. In fact I feel bad for imposing on her. And something as simple as the venue can be changed easily, even though deciding on one may not be easy.
The thing is, I tried my best already...I'm really having second thoughts about organising another outing come this year end. It's stressful, and tiring.
Then again, I would like to say a thank you to the following people, I won't list the names, but you should be able to figure out who you are. =)
Good Friend #1:
Thanks for listening on that night when i cracked...Your words DID get through. LoL. It's no one's fault...And you rock!!! hahaha.
Good Friend #2:
Good Friend #3:
Well...I know you don't read my blog, but still...if you ever chance upon this post one day, just know that your efforts had never gone to waste.
Good Friend #4:
I will stop apologizing for everything ok?? Haha. But you've been great help. Owe you one! =)
Man, I realised I have quite a few good friends...should be contented with life already. haha.
ok, I really need to get back to work. CHIONG AH!
monday met zhang yuan and company for a movie...initially wanted to watch 'Sex and the City', but after some hiccups we decided to watch kung fu panda instead.
Lazy to find the poster, but anyways its a hilarious film. worth watching.
After the movie had dinner, py and hz joined us.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Yesterday met marcus (finally!!!) at cck to eat our ljs, then came over to my place...he said he wanted to look for a job. and so he did.
as usual we were squabbling half the time...that's the way we communicate haha. really miss those times at the cabin...
really appreciate that he could turn up this saturday, and thanks to those who helped me in one way or another...i don't want to be accused of badmouthing people here, but...there's a limit to my patience.
deep down i am actually very afraid that history will repeat itself...yes I know I lost control again, but do you know how it was the past 10 months? and how would I know how you feel without you telling me? I need to know, really...and I don't want it to end because of my lack of control...I know I've said that many many times, but I will try not to lose it anymore...
Date: Friday, June 06
Event: Kbox with Joson, SueAnne, Patrick and LiChen
Haven't been to kbox for ages, and going with cellobass ppl is fun!!! hahaa. sang lots of songs, and we spammed stephanie sun's songs towards the end. lolx. It was a great experience, and Patrick is such a good singer!!! Really lor. Wish i can sing that well...
Sang until about 6pm, then went home to do final preparation for SAT.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Date: Saturday, June 07
Event: SAT, BPCO Concert, Dinner with Justin.
Woke up at about 6.30am for the SAT. Dad alighted me at Bukit Batok, then I took a bus to the venue, St. Francis Methodist School.
It's really one of the weirdest school I have been...It offers many many many kinds of curriculum, including the Australian one, Cambridge A levels just to name a few. It's also the first school I have seen which put up all those disgusting anti-smoking campaign posters. eeew.
Went there to see a long queue, and so I began to queue up. Then we were seperated into groups, and brought up to a classroom. the stairs are sure steep...And after one whole load of instructions, we started the test. which, well, got quite sucky.
My advice: Don't take SAT unless necessary. It's damn tedious and boring.
After SAT i popped to Choa Chu Kang CC to collect my ticket from gladys. Overheard their rehearsal, and I decided to leave shortly after. Went to my granny's house to doze abit, then went back to the CC for the concert!!!
As usual, Justin is late...so I had to sit there alone for about half an hour. And I saw Hongli, Ser Kun and people from that batch!!! I was so shocked can!!! It's like ages since I last saw them. LoL. And Hongli still LOOKS the same. hahahaha.
And when I saw Justin, I got another shock.
Before...
After...
Look what NP did to him. LoL. Even Elvin cannot recognise him.
He's a talented guy lor haha. And super hardworking now...Continue working hard k??
BPCO played alright, it really wasn't that bad...so gladys cheer up.
After the concert, Justin and I went for dinner...talked lots of crap haha. He really is a great friend...and we said we will meet again during the next 2 weeks...=)
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Date: Sunday June 08
Event: Sleep.
Well, my extended family decided to go to pulau ubin today, but i'm really too tired, so i didn't follow them. If marcus had agreed to going prob i would have joined them...well i don't blame you la, understand that you're tired...But do try to understand how i feel too.
So...I ended up sleeping from 12.30am to 4pm. =)))
After that was just slacking, reading newspapers, and blogging. Desperately trying to upload the concert's photos...Just when I finish uploading everything, the screen hang...then everything gone!!! ahhh. hate blogger.
Well, tomorrow have to start mugging...Because I only have 2 weeks left. Well...GO GO GO!!! Sure can de hahaha.
Tmr will be meeting zhang yuan for dinner...Really nice catching up with friends. =)
man, it is going to be my last concert for some time, or probably be the last in my entire life. from preparation to full dress rehearsal to the actual concert itself, everything seemed to pass so quickly. and so, i couldn't catch many details of the happenings yesterday...
it was a great experience indeed, performing with co and of course cellobass. although there are many unhappy things that happened, i think the most important thing is that we played our best and we enjoyed ourselves!!
realised that my mind was in a complete mess, especially after the concert. still, there are people i want to thank...
1. Patrick, for being such a wonderful friend and buddy!!
2. Audrey and Duqian for their effort in emcee-ing!
3. Cellobass for the wonderful experience!!
4. Seniors for the flower!!
5. Shalene for the flower!!!
6. WeiJian for putting in SO much effort to make the concert happen.
7. Everyone else who made the concert a success.
8. Peiyi and hz for coming =)
Realised that it's not exactly true that you won't find good friends in jc..it only depends if your heart is willing accept them...I guess I really did learn a fair bit in njco. =) ______________________________________________________________________________________
Well, I actually wanted to describe in detail what happened on the concert day itself, but i realised there's not much detail at the first place...everything seemed to fly, and I was pretty messed up towards the end. lolx. so...photos then!!!
Jin Xian and ME
Us again. Haha.
Audrey & Patrick!!
Duqian and ME
Duqian and her Mr Ng...LoLi'm just questioning all the things that I try my best to forget...like how others people think of me, yada yada...i guess i really have split personality. Most of the time such things don't matter, but occasionally everything changes and they pop out...argh.
i really feel like just watching tv, sleep and worry about work tomorrow.
Anyway, on a side note, for those from peps, you may or may not be surprised that mrs ngiam is still the principal.
which explains why the school performed so badly for the challenge show on channel 8.
talk about gaining glory. =.=













